Best Inverter Generators: Compared by Use
An inverter generator produces power that is cleaner and steadier than a conventional open-frame unit, and most are quieter and lighter for their output. The trade is price and, on larger machines, weight. This guide compares the inverter generators in our comparison tool using manufacturer figures retrieved on 2 November 2026. We rank by use rather than naming a single winner, because the right one depends on what you plug in.
The inverter models we compare
| Model | Rated output | Weight | Noise (as stated) | Listed price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Honda EU2200i | 1,800 W gasoline | 46.5 lb | 62 dB rated load, 53 dB at 1/4 load | Not published |
| Yamaha EF2200iS | 1,800 W gasoline | 55.2 lb | 57 to 65 dBA | Not published |
| Champion 100809 | 3,000 W gasoline | 48.1 lb | 64 dBA at 23 ft | Not published |
| Champion 201050 dual fuel | 3,000 W gasoline, 2,700 W propane | 51.8 lb | 64 dBA at 23 ft | Not published |
| Generac GP3500iO | 3,000 W gasoline | 74.3 lb | Not stated | Not published |
| Predator 3500 CO Secure | 3,000 W gasoline | 102 lb | 56 dB(A) at 23 ft, 25% load | $799.99 |
| Westinghouse iGen5000DF | 3,900 W gasoline, 3,500 W propane | 104.7 lb | 52 dBA | $1,199 MSRP |
| Honda EU7000iS | 5,500 W gasoline | 263.2 lb | 58 dB rated load, 52 dB at 1/4 load | Not published |
Use the filter in the comparison tool to put any of these side by side.
Best by use
Lightest for camping and tailgating
The Honda EU2200i (46.5 lb) and the Champion 100809 (48.1 lb) are the lightest in our list, and the Champion carries a higher rating at 3,000 running watts. The EU2200i and Yamaha EF2200iS are rated at 1,800 W and both support parallel connection to combine two units. The Champion 100809 lists a CO sensor shutdown and parallel capability.
| Specification | HondaEU2200iInverter | YamahaEF2200iSInverter | Champion100809 4000W InverterInverter |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price and ownership cost | |||
| Listed price (USD, estimate) | Not publishedHonda's spec release does not state a price | Not publishedYamaha's spec page does not state a price | Not publishedChampion's product page does not state a price |
| Price per rated watt (derived) | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Warranty | 3 years residential, 3 years commercial | 3 years limited | 3 years limited, free lifetime technical support |
| Maintenance | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Oil capacity | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Power | |||
| Rated output by fuel |
|
|
|
| Starting or surge watts | 2,200 W | 2,200 W | 4,000 W |
| Fuel types | Gasoline | Gasoline | Gasoline |
| Engine | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Displacement (cc) | 121 cc | 79 cc | 149 cc |
| Runtime, fuel use and running cost | |||
| Fuel tank (gal) | 0.95 gal | 1.24 gal | 1.54 gal |
| Runtime on a tank, as stated |
|
|
|
| Fuel use, as stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Fuel per kWh (derived) | 0.26 galgasoline at 25% load, from tank size and stated runtime | 0.262 galgasoline at 25% load, from tank size and stated runtime | 0.205 galgasoline at 25% load, from tank size and stated runtime |
| Fuel cost per kWh at your price (derived) | |||
| Fuel cost per hour at that load (derived) | |||
| Size and comfort | |||
| Weight (lb) | 46.5 lb | 55.2 lb | 48.1 lb |
| Dimensions | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Noise (as stated) | 62 dB rated load, 53 dB at 1/4 load | 57 to 65 dBA (Yamaha lists a range) | 64 dBA at 23 ft |
| Starting method | Recoil | Not stated | Recoil |
| Features | |||
| Inverter output | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Total harmonic distortion | Not stated | Not stated | under 3% |
| Automatic voltage regulation (AVR) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| CO sensor shutdown | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Transfer switch ready | Not stated | Not stated | No |
| Parallel capable | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Outlets and connections | One 20A 120V duplex, 12V 100W DC | 12V DC, 3 A | 5-20R duplex, TT-30R (25 A), 12V DC, parallel outlets |
| Fit | |||
| Suited to | Camping and outdoors, RV and travel trailer | Camping and outdoors, RV and travel trailer | Camping and outdoors, RV and travel trailer, Tailgating |
| Also worth knowing | Eco Throttle, oil alert, fuel shut-off valve | CO sensor shutdown, parallel operation with a second unit | CO Shield automatic shutdown, parallel kit sold separately |
| Honest take | |||
| Advantages |
|
|
|
| Drawbacks |
|
|
|
| Source | |||
| Where the figures come from | Honda Power Equipment technical specificationsRetrieved 2026-11-02 | Yamaha Motor Corporation USA specifications (2021 model page)Retrieved 2026-11-02 | Champion Power Equipment product pageRetrieved 2026-11-02 |
Best for RV and essential circuits
The 3,000 to 3,900 W class covers a fridge, lights, a furnace fan and many RV loads. The Champion 201050, Generac GP3500iO, Predator 3500 and Westinghouse iGen5000DF sit here. The 201050 and the iGen5000DF run on two fuels. The Predator lists electric start and CO shutdown. The iGen5000DF adds remote start. Add up your loads first with the generator load calculator.
| Specification | Champion201050 4000W Dual Fuel InverterInverter | GeneracGP3500iO (7128)Inverter | Predator (Harbor Freight)3500 Super Quiet with CO SecureInverter | WestinghouseiGen5000DFInverter |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price and ownership cost | ||||
| Listed price (USD, estimate) | Not publishedChampion's product page does not state a price | Not publishedNot on the spec sheet; availability varies by retailer | $799.99Harbor Freight listing; sale prices vary | $1,199.00Westinghouse MSRP |
| Price per rated watt (derived) | n/a | n/a | $0.27per watt, first fuel listed | $0.31per watt, first fuel listed |
| Warranty | not stated on the page reviewed | 3 years residential, 1 year commercial | not stated in the sources reviewed | 3 years residential, 1 year commercial |
| Maintenance | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Oil capacity | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Power | ||||
| Rated output by fuel |
|
|
|
|
| Starting or surge watts | 4,000 W | 3,500 W | 3,500 W | 5,000 W |
| Fuel types | Gasoline / Propane | Gasoline | Gasoline | Gasoline / Propane |
| Engine | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Displacement (cc) | 149 cc | 212 cc | 212 cc | 224 cc |
| Runtime, fuel use and running cost | ||||
| Fuel tank (gal) | 1.54 gal | 2.37 gal | 2.33 gal | 3.4 gal |
| Runtime on a tank, as stated |
|
|
|
|
| Fuel use, as stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Fuel per kWh (derived) | 0.205 galgasoline at 25% load, from tank size and stated runtime | 0.197 galgasoline at 50% load, from tank size and stated runtime | 0.283 galgasoline at 25% load, from tank size and stated runtime | 0.194 galgasoline at 25% load, from tank size and stated runtime |
| Fuel cost per kWh at your price (derived) | ||||
| Fuel cost per hour at that load (derived) | ||||
| Size and comfort | ||||
| Weight (lb) | 51.8 lb | 74.3 lb | 102 lb | 104.7 lb |
| Dimensions | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Noise (as stated) | 64 dBA at 23 ft | not stated | 56 dB(A) at 23 ft, 25% load | 52 dBA |
| Starting method | Recoil | Recoil | Electric, Recoil | Electric, Remote, Recoil |
| Features | ||||
| Inverter output | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Total harmonic distortion | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 3% or less |
| Automatic voltage regulation (AVR) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| CO sensor shutdown | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | No |
| Transfer switch ready | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | No |
| Parallel capable | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Outlets and connections | 5-20R duplex, TT-30R (25 A), 12V DC | L5-30R (30 A), 20 A 120V duplex, 5V USB | L5-30, two 5-20, 12V DC | 5-20R duplex, two USB, TT-30R |
| Fit | ||||
| Suited to | Camping and outdoors, RV and travel trailer, Essential circuits | Camping and outdoors, RV and travel trailer, Essential circuits | Camping and outdoors, RV and travel trailer, Essential circuits | Camping and outdoors, RV and travel trailer, Essential circuits |
| Also worth knowing | Runs on gasoline or propane | Economy mode, low-oil shutdown, parallel kit sold separately | CO Secure shutdown, battery included, digital display | Inverter output, key fob start |
| Honest take | ||||
| Advantages |
|
|
|
|
| Drawbacks |
|
|
|
|
| Source | ||||
| Where the figures come from | Champion Power Equipment product pageRetrieved 2026-11-02 | Generac spec sheet and owner's manual (model 7128)Retrieved 2026-11-02 | Harbor Freight listing and owner's manual (item 59137 / 71358)Retrieved 2026-11-02 | Westinghouse product page (address still shows the earlier iGen4500DF name; page lists the iGen5000DF)Retrieved 2026-11-02 |
Best for the quietest running
Among the figures makers state, the Westinghouse iGen5000DF is listed at 52 dBA and the Honda EU7000iS at 52 dB at 1/4 load. The Honda EU2200i lists 53 dB at 1/4 load. Makers measure at different distances and loads, so treat these as a guide and read the footnotes on the manufacturer page.
Largest inverter in our list
The Honda EU7000iS is rated at 5,500 running watts and weighs 263.2 lb. Honda’s page did not state its start type, engine size or warranty in the sources we reviewed, so those cells show Not stated.
What to look for in an inverter generator
- Running watts, not peak. Peak lasts seconds. Size to running watts plus your largest starting surge.
- Total harmonic distortion (THD). Low THD matters for laptops and other electronics. Most makers do not publish a THD figure, so the row in the tool often says Not stated.
- Parallel capability. Lets you link two small units to double the output.
- CO shutdown. A sensor that shuts the engine down if carbon monoxide builds up. It adds a margin of safety but does not replace running the generator outdoors.
- Runtime on a tank. Compare runtimes at the same load. The tool shows each maker’s stated load.
For the full inverter vs conventional trade-offs, see Inverter vs Conventional Generators.
What we could not verify
Only the Predator and Westinghouse listings show a price. The Predator weight of 102 lb came from a listing summary and was not confirmed against the manual. Honda blocked our automated fetch, so check its page for the latest EU2200i and EU7000iS figures.
Frequently asked questions
Are inverter generators worth the extra cost?
If you power laptops, phones or other electronics, or you want quieter running, yes. For a worksite with power tools and no sensitive electronics, a conventional generator costs less per watt.
Can an inverter generator run a refrigerator?
Usually yes, if the running and starting watts fit. A refrigerator’s compressor needs extra watts to start, so check the surge rating and use the load calculator.
What is parallel capability?
It lets you connect two compatible small inverter generators with a cable to combine their output, so you can carry two light units instead of one heavy one.