Westinghouse Generators: Four Models Compared
Westinghouse sells portable generators from about 3,600 to 14,500 running watts, and most listings name a model by its peak watts, which makes the line-up hard to read. This guide lines up four models using the figures on Westinghouse’s own product pages, retrieved on 4 November 2026, and explains which model name means what. It does not rank them by reliability, because we have no failure or service data to base that on.
Decoding the model names
Retail listings often call a Westinghouse generator by its peak (starting) watts, while the manufacturer names it by running watts. The same unit can therefore show up under two numbers.
- “4650 watt” is the gasoline peak rating of the WGen3600DF, which runs at 3,600 W.
- “9500 watt” in a listing can mean the WGen7500, which has 9,500 peak watts and 7,500 running watts, or the WGen9500DF, which runs at 9,500 W and peaks at 12,500 W.
- “12500 watt” is the gasoline peak rating of the WGen9500DF.
Check the running watts first, because that is the output the generator can hold for hours. Our generator size calculator works from running watts.
Side-by-side
| Specification | WestinghouseWGen3600DFPortable | WestinghouseWGen7500Portable | WestinghouseWGen7500DFPortable | WestinghouseWGen9500DFPortable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price and ownership cost | ||||
| Listed price (USD, estimate) | $629.00Westinghouse MSRP | $1,049.00Westinghouse MSRP; retailer links showed out of stock | $1,149.00Westinghouse MSRP; retailer links showed out of stock | $1,249.00Westinghouse MSRP |
| Price per rated watt (derived) | $0.17per watt, first fuel listed | $0.14per watt, first fuel listed | $0.15per watt, first fuel listed | $0.13per watt, first fuel listed |
| Warranty | 3 years residential, 1 year commercial | 3 years residential, 1 year commercial | 3 years residential, 1 year commercial | 3 years residential, 1 year commercial |
| Maintenance | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Oil capacity | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Power | ||||
| Rated output by fuel |
|
|
|
|
| Starting or surge watts | 4,650 W | 9,500 W | 9,500 W | 12,500 W |
| Fuel types | Gasoline / Propane | Gasoline | Gasoline / Propane | Gasoline / Propane |
| Engine | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Displacement (cc) | 212 cc | 420 cc | 420 cc | 457 cc |
| Runtime, fuel use and running cost | ||||
| Fuel tank (gal) | 4 gal | 6.6 gal | 6.6 gal | 6.6 gal |
| Runtime on a tank, as stated |
|
|
|
|
| Fuel use, as stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Fuel per kWh (derived) | 0.212 galgasoline at 50% load, from tank size and stated runtime | 0.32 galgasoline at 25% load, from tank size and stated runtime | 0.32 galgasoline at 25% load, from tank size and stated runtime | 0.174 galgasoline at 50% load, from tank size and stated runtime |
| Fuel cost per kWh at your price (derived) | ||||
| Fuel cost per hour at that load (derived) | ||||
| Size and comfort | ||||
| Weight (lb) | 120 lb | 196 lb | 201 lb | 211 lb |
| Dimensions | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Noise (as stated) | 68 dBA | 72 dBA | 72 dBA | 74 dBA |
| Starting method | Electric, Remote, Recoil | Not stated | Not stated | Electric, Remote, Recoil |
| Features | ||||
| Inverter output | No | No | No | No |
| Total harmonic distortion | 23% or less | ≤23% | ≤23% | Not stated |
| Automatic voltage regulation (AVR) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| CO sensor shutdown | No | Not stated | Not stated | No |
| Transfer switch ready | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Parallel capable | No | No | No | No |
| Outlets and connections | 5-20R duplex, L5-30R, TT-30R | Two 5-20R GFCI duplex, L14-30R 120/240V, transfer switch ready | Two 5-20R duplex, L14-30R 120/240V, two USB, transfer switch ready | Two 5-20R duplex, L14-30R, 14-50R, transfer switch ready |
| Fit | ||||
| Suited to | Essential circuits, Construction and jobsite, Camping and outdoors | Home backup, Construction and jobsite | Home backup, Construction and jobsite | Home backup, Construction and jobsite, Heavy duty |
| Also worth knowing | Key fob start, 30A breaker | Transfer switch ready (ST switch) | Dual fuel; two USB ports; transfer switch ready (ST switch) | Transfer switch ready (ST switch) |
| Honest take | ||||
| Advantages |
|
|
|
|
| Drawbacks |
|
|
|
|
| Source | ||||
| Where the figures come from | Westinghouse product pageRetrieved 2026-11-02 | Westinghouse product pageRetrieved 2026-11-04 | Westinghouse product pageRetrieved 2026-11-04 | Westinghouse product pageRetrieved 2026-11-02 |
The four models
WGen3600DF: the smallest dual-fuel
Rated at 3,600 running and 4,650 peak watts on gasoline, and 3,240 running and 4,180 peak watts on propane. It has a 212cc engine, a 4 gallon tank and weighs 120 lb dry. Westinghouse states 14 hours at 25% load and 10.5 hours at 50% load on gasoline, and 16.5 hours at 25% load and 14 hours at 50% load on propane. Noise is listed at 68 dBA. The MSRP is $629, or about $0.17 per gasoline running watt. Westinghouse’s page also says “10.5 hours on a 20 lb. propane tank” in a bullet that does not match its own spec table, so treat the table as the reference and confirm with the manual.
WGen7500: gasoline only
7,500 running and 9,500 peak watts from a 420cc engine, a 6.6 gallon tank and a stated 11 hours at 25% load. It weighs 196 lb dry and is rated at 72 dBA and no more than 23% total harmonic distortion. It has two GFCI 5-20R outlets and an L14-30R twist-lock outlet that is transfer switch ready. The MSRP is $1,049, about $0.14 per running watt. Both retailer links on the page showed it out of stock when we checked.
WGen7500DF: the same size, with propane
Same ratings on gasoline, and 6,750 running and 8,550 peak watts on propane, which is 90% of the gasoline figure. Westinghouse states 11 hours on gasoline and 8 hours on propane, both at 25% load. It weighs 201 lb dry, adds two USB ports, and carries an MSRP of $1,149, about $0.15 per gasoline running watt. That is $100 more than the gasoline-only WGen7500.
WGen9500DF: the largest of the four
9,500 running and 12,500 peak watts on gasoline, and 8,500 running and 11,200 peak watts on propane. It has a 457cc engine, a 6.6 gallon tank, electric start and weighs 211 lb dry. Westinghouse states 12 hours at 25% load and 8 hours at 50% load on gasoline, and 7 hours at 50% load on propane. Noise is 74 dBA. The warranty is 3 years residential and 1 year commercial, and the MSRP is $1,249, about $0.13 per running watt, the lowest of the four.
How to choose
| If you need | Look at | Why |
|---|---|---|
| The lowest price and a small, propane-capable unit | WGen3600DF | Lowest MSRP and weight of the four, and the longest stated run times (14 hours on gasoline and 16.5 on propane, both at 25% load). |
| Home backup on gasoline through a transfer switch | WGen7500 | 7,500 running watts and an L14-30R outlet, at $100 less than the dual-fuel version. |
| The same size with a propane option | WGen7500DF | Propane output is 6,750 W, and propane does not go stale in storage. |
| The most running watts and the lowest cost per watt | WGen9500DF | 9,500 running watts, but it is the heaviest and loudest of the four. |
Add up what you actually need with the load calculator and the appliance wattage chart before choosing, and compare run time and fuel use in the fuel consumption calculator.
What we could not verify
- Reliability and service. We found no failure-rate or service-network data from Westinghouse, so we do not rate these models for durability.
- Where they are made. We did not find this on the product pages we reviewed, so we do not state it.
- Start type of the WGen7500 and WGen7500DF. It is not in the specification tables we reviewed.
- Current prices. Only MSRPs are published. Street prices change, and the WGen7500 pages showed out of stock.
Related guides
- Generator comparison tool
- Best generators for home backup
- Gas vs propane vs diesel generators
- Inverter vs conventional generators
- How does a generator work?
Frequently asked questions
What does “Westinghouse 4650” mean?
It is the gasoline peak rating of the WGen3600DF. The generator runs at 3,600 watts and can surge to 4,650 watts briefly.
Are Westinghouse generators any good?
We can describe the specifications, but we have no failure or service data, so we cannot rate reliability. On specifications, the four models above publish their running watts, run times, noise and warranty, with 3 years residential coverage.
Should I buy the dual-fuel version?
If you want propane as a backup fuel for storage reasons, the dual-fuel models give up about 10% of output on propane. Between the WGen7500 and WGen7500DF the difference is $100 MSRP.
Can the WGen7500 run a house?
It can power selected circuits through a transfer switch, not everything at once. Add up the running watts of your essentials first, and read why every backup generator needs a transfer switch.